My Birthday Weekend in Verona

Having just celebrated my birthday this year, I was encouraged to look back on the photos from the surprise birthday trip I received in 2012.  An amazing trip to Verona. Three fantastic days in an absolutely incredible (and highly recommended) Italian city.

IMG_0249

This trip solidified my already strong belief that Italy is the best European country for weekend breaks.  Why?  Well, how about a list:

  • The distance

Europe may not be massive but, when you only have a couple of days to spare, it is a waste to spend the whole time on a plane or a train.  Italy is only a few hours from London so, with an early start, you can be sipping wine and scoffing pizza by lunchtime

  • The food

Which brings me to my second point.  The food in Italy is amazing.  I am perhaps slightly biased – afterall, Italian food is my favourite and I did have to hunt down an Italian restaurant in Hanoi – but surely everyone loves pizza?  And pasta?  And ice cream?

  • The weather

Italy will always have better weather than London.  Fact.  Well, sort of, fact.  It might not always be better, but I reckon that London is rarely sunnier than Italy.

  • The many, many beautiful cities

Italy has so much to offer.  The list of places to visit is (almost) endless.  So, yes, I may have been to Verona.  And to Florence.  But that still leaves Milan, Rome, Venice, Bologna, Turin, Perugia and Pisa as well as Lake Garda.

IMG_0232

My trip to Verona successfully fulfilled all of these criteria.  The flight only took about two hours – we left very early in the morning and were, as you may have expected, sipping wine and scoffing pizza by lunchtime.  After that, we ate constantly until we came home a couple of days later.  I had the best bolognaise ever at a wonderful, little out-of-the-way restaurant, and had a mid-morning and late-afternoon ice-cream everyday.  The weather was perfect as, with the exception of one brief shower, we had sunshine from Friday until Sunday.  And yes, it was beautiful.

IMG_0266

Leave a Reply

