Books for Bali

Now, I hope that you’ll forgive me for not reading anything that can be considered ‘serious literature’, but I’m just coming to the end of an English degree.  In the last few months I’ve written essays on Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales, a range of Cambodian genocide texts and George Eliot’s The Mill on the Floss.

The Books for Bali will be a list of books that aren’t demanding, aren’t difficult; books that don’t require me to reread a single line of text.

I recently received a lovely Kindle Fire so I’ve decided to bring a combination of e-books and paperbacks with me.  At least with the Kindle, I won’t run out of books.  Like I did in Cambodia.  (NB: there is an English book shop in Siem Reap and it has an amazing selection – it’s just a little bit tricky to find!)

I received a £20 Amazon voucher as a gift with which I bought these books.  So here is the list:

1.  Divergent by Veronica Roth

You may notice a bit of a theme to these books.  Over the last eighteen months or so, I (like an awful lot of others) have become a fan of dystopian literature.  Last summer I made an effort to read classic dystopian literature (you know, The Handmaid’s Tale, The Running Man, Chrysalids) and this summer, it’s all about contemporary dystoptian fiction.  I have read The Hunger Games trilogy (and particularly loved the first two) and recently finished the final novel in Lauren Oliver’s Delirium trilogy (not quite The Hunger Games but enjoyable nonetheless).  So I’m starting with Divergent and, if I enjoy it, the sequel is already out and the third novel is due to come out later this year.

2. Insatiable by Meg Cabot

While I was exploring the works of Veronica Roth, Ally Condie and Lauren Oliver, I came across a recommendation for Meg Cabot’s Insatiable.  I have no idea what to expect, although I’m reliable informed that it includes vampires.  As a teenager, I loved The Princess Diaries series, so I hope that this is equally enjoyable.

3. Gold by Chris Cleave

Like Insatiable, I stumbled across a recommendation for Chris Cleave’s Gold.  About a year ago, while sitting around on jury service, I read an earlier novel by him, entitled The Other Hand.  I had been bored waiting to be called for a case so had wandered to Waterstones at lunch time to stock up on books.  I read this one in a day.  Which reminds me, I still haven’t touched the other book I bought that day.  I have slightly higher expectations of this book that I do of the others.  It’s a step away from my dystopian theme so, if I get tired of those, I’ll have something else to tuck in to.

4. Uglies by Scott Westerfield

This is another that cropped up during my research into contemporary dystopian fiction.  I’ve read the sample chapter on my Kindle already so I’m fairly optimistic that I’ll enjoy it.  Again, if I do, there are sequels that I can purchase for my Kindle while in Bali.

5. Matched by Ally Condie

Although this is #5 on my list, I think that I will probably read Ally Condie’s Matched. I’ve deliberately bought it in paperback so that I can read it on the plane – I’m not sure that my Kindle battery will last the flight.  And, again, there are sequels!

Leave a Reply

